Show me a good loser and I’ll show you an idiot…

I’ve never been an outwardly competitive person, I just assumed I’d win. When I didn’t it was no major biggie because I usually wasn’t that invested. As I spend more time in culinary school the more I realize I am a horrible loser. In my head I can’t lose. So when I came in second in a class cookie competition I was livid. Especially since I knew me not winning was because of one persons votes (I will leave that nonsense for a rant post at a later date). My poopy mood didn’t change for the rest of the day, especially when everyone kept telling me that they thought I was going to win. I replied with a simple “I thought I was going to too”. They laughed thinking I was joking but I was serious. There was no real competition. The cookies were good but not creative or well thought through.

My whole point of telling this story is to explain my revelation. The more passionate you are about something, the more of a sore loser you will be. No one wants to come in 2nd or 3rd when competing in something they do for a living and a major past time. Lebron James cries when he doesn’t agree with a call because he expects to get his way all the time. He knows hes great and expects nothing less. Baking is my thing so anyone getting in the way of that is on my hit list.

Setting high standards keep you on your toes and moving not only forward but up. Set goals, achieve them, and make more goals. Never settle for satisfactory.

(Title comes from a quote by baseball player Leo Durocher)

What do you think?